Fringe 365 Project – #322

tumblr_mwfunjuA7j1rzirmio1_1280[1]

I didn’t care for how a previous attempt at a Peter profile turned out, so I gave it another try. I think this one worked out better. I have been reading the excellent Figure Drawing for Comics and Graphic Novels which has a more simplified approach to head drawing than the anatomy books I’ve been reading.

For future projects, the place I need to go is learning to draw characters in situations where there are no good references, so here’s a sketch dump. First the profile sketch, and (after many corrections) the inked end product:

peterprofile1 peterprofile2

There’s a movie about fringe science (that I haven’t seen) called What the *Bleep* Do We Know? That’s a good saying for figure drawing. So, you’ve drawn a generic figure in some sort of position, and you want to turn it into a recognizable character who looks like an actual person. Where do you even start? I think you just have to stop thinking about what you don’t know, and think about what you do know, and add that to the drawing. After 300-odd days of drawing Fringe people and Fringey stuff, sometimes I feel like I’ve learned very little, but at least some factoids I’ve learned have stuck (stream of consciousness time):

I know that Joshua Jackson’s eyebrows look a certain way, OK I’ll do those… I know that line needs to stay in (for now), and that this line isn’t doing anything helpful, so I’ll erase it… I do know this guy’s chin sticks out… I do know his nose isn’t that long… I know the mouth is wrong but I don’t know what to do about it just yet…

peter1 peter2

So these are the things I know that I can apply to the drawing before I peek at a reference of some sort to get other questions answered. Maybe I will remember more things about this particular individual, but for now… that’s all the bleep I know about this second sketch.

One thought on “Fringe 365 Project – #322

  1. This is amazing. I’ve been following your work and you just keep getting better. I saw ‘what the bleep do we know?’ and it was great. I highly recommend it. Keep up the good work

Comments are closed.