Fringe 365 Project – #296

tumblr_mv3laa8fN31rzirmio1_1280[1]

OLIVIA: She wasn’t me. How could you not see that? Now she’s everywhere. She’s in my house, my job, my bed, and I don’t want to wear my clothes anymore, and I don’t want to live in my apartment, and I don’t want to be with you. She’s taken everything.

(3×09, “Marionette”)

I was getting a little tired of line art so I decided to paint instead. Of course you usually need a drawing to paint on, so I did do that. This one has real color (not grayscale-to-color) and I used a secondary (green-purple-orange) palette. Procreate brushes used: Groovy (for leaves), Hessian (for background and grass), Claire Ink (for detail), and Wet Brush (for background).

I love it when I am able to do a project that turns out almost exactly the way I wanted it to. But then you sort of feel pressure to “do it again” and honestly it was a lucky thing that I was able to finish this in my usual daily 2 to 3-hour turnaround time. Truth is, I got lucky with the subject matter, and with the drawing (got it right the first time), and with the palette, and I even got her hands sort of right (for once) — and by “lucky” I mean, “was able to figure it out in under three hours.” The next day, I resolved to tackle this style again with another subject (it was to be a picture of Bolivia being happy Over There), but it didn’t work out as quickly and I went with something else (because failure is not an option).

This picture works because the reference scene (end of “Marionette”) works. Whenever I see this scene I imagine that the location scout or the set dresser looked at those white iron chairs and thought, “Gee, what a charmingly odd detail, let’s leave them right where they are.” For me, the fancy white chair works as complete contrast with Olivia’s sad state of mind and her black coat. The setting is perfectly overgrown and lonely for such a sorrowful moment. Obviously, the filmmakers did most of the imaginary work for me, but hopefully I was able to enhance the scene a little bit (I moved the birdbath away from the chair, anyway!)

The reason why the picture of Bolivia I planned didn’t work is because – well, it wasn’t a dramatic moment. I don’t want to say we don’t care at all about Bolivia, but the more you care about the subject, the more expressive your art hopefully can be.

