Fringe 365 Project – #245

tumblr_msf7loNrAX1rzirmio1_1280[1]

Lately I’ve been trying to have my portrait drawings of Fringe characters have more expression than a reference photo can capture, while making it still look like them, which is kinda the point of fan art IMHO. So here’s Peter Bishop being pretty intense. Unfortunately a three-hour work window doesn’t give you much time to go away from a drawing and look on it with fresh eyes. (Sometimes you come back and what looked fine, doesn’t look right any more, and you didn’t do anything to it in the meantime.)

Procreate 1.9, the latest version, has a video record feature, so here is the process sped up (about two hours’ worth of work, not including the colorization process, which is not shown in the video). One word about colorization: adding color to a grayscale drawing, which is what I do a lot, can introduce changes into all those values you carefully laid down. There really isn’t any way to push a button and “voila!” colorize something (despite what the end of the video implies!), you do have to go back to the colorized version and make further changes.

At 2:30, you can see me suddenly realize I forgot to tone my canvas (to a light gray) and correct that mistake. This is because I found myself “running out of white” which means I forgot to reserve my lightest colors for the absolute highlights which are so important to get the illusion of form (end of nose, chin etc). Thank goodness we can do this in digital art, because on paper, it would have meant laboriously darkening everything else!

In the drawing process, I draw a lot of lines that really don’t matter in the end, but it’s important they be there as a guide during the process (such as the cheekbone line, an artifact of the initial form building which is always the last guideline to go). Something I have learned when drawing is that you are always making decisions as you go on what lines are useful and what lines are not useful (and therefore erasable). Everyone’s decisions on this are different. I sometimes see line work or inking in professional comics, particularly on cheek areas, that I admit I just don’t understand why they are there, since they seem to add nothing. But that’s just my perception, and indeed I may be guilty of the same thing and just not see it.

