Fringe 365 Project – #126 through #130

Fallen behind on the blogging, here are this week’s entries all together.

Although you wouldn’t know it from Fringe’s tumblr fan presence, which emphasizes romance and characters, Fringe was a very gruesome show sometimes. If I ever did a Fringe webcomic, it wouldn’t be right to ignore that aspect totally. What is the best way to draw disgusting things? And more to the point, what is the best way to draw them Fringe-style?

Should the gore be photorealistic? Or should it be stylized, or even cute?

126group

#126 is a collection of teratomas. (See the Tumblr post for the full description.) The first one was drawn pretty closely from a reference (no shit, it really was), but the other two are purely imaginary. I have to say I enjoyed doing these way too much more than seems normal. I actually was sitting there thinking, “Gee, I’d like to do more of these someday” (!) Of all the things I did this week, they also seem to express Fringe’s attitude towards gore: designed to freak you out with a nervous laugh, not necessarily make you barf. Come on! They are like Fringe tribbles. I wonder why Fringe never actually dealt with this very real medical phenomenon. Considering that the Fringe 365 Project itself is a sort of artistic teratoma, a glurt of wild creativity of freakishly disparate styles that isn’t necessarily going to become anything coherent (although it might… mwa ha ha).

127

#127 was sort of a no-brainer but I really wish I’d had more time to think it through. So many good ideas, so little time to properly execute them. I’ve resigned myself to the possibility that everything I do on a Monday night is going to disappoint me.

128a

#128 represents my personal vote for the second most disgusting moment of the entire series: “The Hand” from 4×09 “Enemy of My Enemy.” This delightful moment occurred right at a time when I was feeling that Fringe had strayed too far from its gory origins in Season 4. This is a totally different style approach to gore – realism (see Thomas Eakins). Also, showing a subject in pain or fear can be more shocking than the actual gore itself.

129

#129 was pretty much in the same vein as #128 (excuse the pun), but sadly since my time was so limited that day, I had to use only one reference, a screen shot from 1×02 “The Same Old Story.” I wanted to do an eyeball, any eyeball would do. In hindsight, I wish I’d made the dead girl look, well, more dead.

All of these projects this week gave me an education on what the color palette of gore actually is. It’s so much more than just red: it’s also black, pink, yellow, purple, green…

130a 130b

Lastly, #130 is a stab at how to draw gore and innocent victims in a loose style that might befit a comic. To be honest the end of Glatterflug Flight 627 is just too gross to even look at for very long. And melting people’s faces is surprisingly hard to do from the imagination. I drew the heads normally, then took a smudge brush in Sketch Club and distorted the jaws, then re-drew them. I colored the line drawings with the vector tool in Sketch Club, a process which took less than five minutes for each. I did many drawings and chose a few. The whole point of sketching like this is to be boom, boom, boom fast.

So, what is the best way to integrate gore into Fringe art? I still really can’t give a good answer. I’ll give it another shot somewhere down the line.

