Fringe 365 Project – #118

118

My background is in acrylic painting, and I enjoy doing the digital equivalent, even if it is a single-reference item. I haven’t done it much on the Fringe 365 Project because it takes at least a few days to do to my satisfaction… and I’m usually down to three hours a project because of my work schedule. I started this one a couple weeks ago and worked on it sporadically.

Digital art programs have made it very easy to turn out “painterly” things. But even if you are the best artist in the world and are really doing every stroke “yourself” with no help from a color picker (and there’s nothing wrong with that, if it helps you learn) — if you are turning out something that looks just like a photograph, I personally don’t see the point of doing it. But that’s just my opinion. And I hope this doesn’t look just like a photograph…

I drew it in Procreate and intended to complete it there, because Procreate has a really nice brush engine. But it was getting very slow (it’s time for a new iPad with more power) and once again, I switched to Sketch Club.

